SRUK/CERU Scientific Advisory Board

The SRUK/CERU Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) advises the SRUK/CERU Executive Committee in scientific matters and participates in scientific evaluations such as the SRUK/CERU Emerging Talent Award. The SAB is composed of senior SRUK/CERU members in advanced stages of their scientific careers (Principal Investigators, Group Leaders, etc), or external researchers elected by the Executive Committee in recognition to their suitability — for example, if they have been recipients of the SRUK/CERU Merit Award.

If you want to know more about what we do at the SRUK/CERU SAB, or if you believe you should be considered for it, please contact the SRUK/CERU Roving Director at [email protected].

Current Team Members

It seems we can't find what you're looking for.

Latest News & Articles 

It seems we can't find what you're looking for.

Want to know more?

To be a member of the Scientific Advisory Board, you must:

  • Be a senior member of SRUK/CERU with a demonstrable trajectory in science and research, whether in academia or industry, or a distinguished member such as recipient of the SRUK/CERU Merit Award
  • Be approved by the Executive Committee of SRUK/CERU.

Membership of the SAB is by explicit invitation by the Roving Director, in representation of the Executive Committee. The current members of the SRUK/CERU Scientific Advisory Board are:

  • Dr. Maria Alcolea, Principal Investigator at the Wellcome-MRC Cambridge Stem Cell Institute
  • Dr. Sara Barja, Ramón y Calaj Fellow at the Materials Physics Center of the University of the Basque Country
  • Prof. Alfonso Bueno-Orovio, Associate Professor in Computer Science at the University of Oxford
  • Prof. José A. Carrillo de la Plata, Professor of the Analysis of Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations at the University of Oxford
  • Prof. Carmen Galán, Professor of Organic and Biological Chemistry at the University of Bristol. SRUK/CERU Merit Award 2022
  • Prof. Daniel García González, Associate Professor of Engineering at the University Carlos III of Madrid
  • Dr. Rodrigo Ledesma-Amaro, Reader in Synthetic Biology at Imperial College London. SRUK/CERU Emergent Talent Award 2021
  • Prof. Maria Mittelbrunn, Group Leader at the Severo Ochoa Center of Molecular Biology
  • Dr. María Moros, Group Leader at the Nanoscience and Materials Institute of the University of Zaragoza
  • Dr. Inma Oliveras, Lecturer at the Environmental Change Institute of the University of Oxford
  • Dr. Victoria Pastor-González, Senior Lecturer in Spanish and Film Studies at Regents University London
  • Dr. Marisol Soengas, Group Leader of the Melanoma Group at the National Center for Oncology Research
  • Dr. Rocío Sancho, Group Leader and Senior Lecturer at King’s College London 
  • Prof. Susana García, Professor in Engineering and Physical Sciences at Heriot-Watt University. SRUK/CERU Emergent Talent Award 2020
  • Prof. Marc Vendrell, Chair of Translational Chemistry and Biomedical Imaging at the University of Edinburgh. SRUK/CERU Emergent Talent Award 2019
  • Prof. Mario Merino, Associate Professor of Aerospace Engineering at the University Carlos III of Madrid